The International Hydrography Organization has recently recognized the Southern Ocean as a new ocean.

70% of the surface of the Earth is covered by water. The seas of the earth are linked with each other. The world’s oceans are the Atlantic, Pacific, Indian, Southern, and the Arctic. 10 Tips for Planning a Corporate Incentive Travel Program will be available with the agencies. Some of the areas to be visited through the travelers are provided in the article. 

Atlantic Ocean

It is the second-largest among the oceans. Its name is derived from Greek mythology’s ‘Atlas’. It lies between Africa, Europe, North and South Americas, and Antarctica. It is the youngest ocean and occupies 21% of the surface of the earth. The average depth is 3,927 m. The deepest point is Puerto Rico Trench. The currents in the Northern Atlantic flow clockwise and the currents in the Southern Atlantic flow anticlockwise. The endangered marine mammals such as seals, turtles, sea lions and whales live in the Atlantic.

Arctic Ocean

It is the smallest ocean. Icebergs float over frigid waters. Greenland, North America and Eurasia and several other islands exist around the Arctic. It is connected with the Atlantic via the Greenland Sea and the Labrador Sea. It is connected with the Pacific via the Bering Strait. The central portion of the Arctic is always covered with ice ten feet deep. Endangered marine species like the walrus and whales inhabit here.

Indian Ocean

It is the third largest of all oceans. It is surrounded by Africa, South Asia, Arabia, the Sunda Islands, Australia and Antarctica. Its average depth is 3,900 meters. The deepest point is called the Java Trench (7,725 meters). Species of seals, whales, turtles and dugong exist in this ocean.

Pacific Ocean

It is the largest ocean. It occupies nearly 33% of the surface of the earth. Its name has been derived from Latin – ‘Mare Pacificum’ meaning ‘peaceful sea’. Ferdinand Magellan named the Pacific Ocean. It is surrounded in the west by Asia and Australia. Towards the east, there are the Americas. To the north is the Arctic. To the south is the Antarctic. The deepest point is Mariana Trench (10,911 meters). Species that live here are sea otters, sea lions, turtles, seals and whales.

Southern Ocean

The sea water surrounding the Antarctica region is called the Southern Ocean. It is also called as South Polar Ocean or the Antarctic Ocean. It is the fourth biggest of the oceans. Melting glaciers are the source for this ocean. The Ross Sea, Bellingshausen Seas, Cooperation Sea, Cosmonaut Seas and Amundsen Sea are in the Southern Seas. Dolphins are some of the marine endangered animals that reside here.

The study of marine species, oceans and waves is known as marine science. Marine sciences are collectively also known as oceanography. The vertical and horizontal water movements on the ocean are known as ocean currents. The field of study is vast and there are many mysteries about the oceans that remain as yet unresolved.